Winning start for Galway in league campaign

Galway 1-14 Meath 0-6

Galway dominated Meath from start to finish in the first round of this year’s Allianz Football League Division Two this afternoon.

A blistering first half from Pádraic Joyce’s Galway decided the victory, in which Meath remained scoreless until Jordan Morris’ 45th minute point, a period in which Galway racked up 14 points.

A side-line kick in the 30th minute culminated in the game’s only goal when Tomó Culhane punched in the breaking ball.

Galway came close to bagging a second goal in the 35th minute but a great save from Meath goalkeeper Henry Hogan saw Robert Finnerty’s powerful effort tipped over the bar.

Bad weather conditions had a part to play in Meath’s disappointing first half, as they kicked against the wind. Galway took full advantage and converted 1-9 by the break.

Three points on the bounce for Meath in the second half was answered with a fantastic point kicked over by Galway’s Kieran Molloy, late in the game.

Star man Shane Walsh was Galway’s main output for scores today in the absence of Damien Comer, scoring eight points, three of which came from open play.

First half substitute Jordan Morris was the Royal County’s main source of scores in the encounter, scoring two points, including one from open play.

Strong performances from Galway’s Kieran Molloy and Sean Kelly at the back were key in today’s victory, alongside the dominating midfield pair of Paul Kelly and Matthew Tierney.

Meath manager Andy McEntee made full use of his bench as did Pádraic Joyce making five changes each in the league opener.

The Kilkerrin-Clonberne Ladies GAA team were honoured on the pitch at half-time following their All-Ireland victory on Saturday. Huge cheers from the crowd showed the counties’ pride in the team’s victory.

Galway team: Conor Flaherty, Kieran Molloy (0-1), Sean Kelly, Liam Silke, Dylan McHugh, John Daly, Cillian McDaid (0-1), Paul Kelly (0-1), Matthew Tierney, Owen Gallagher (0-1), Finnian O Laoi, Tomó Culhane (1-0), Rob Finnerty (0-2), Paul Conroy, Shane Walsh (0-8). Subs: Cathal Sweeney, Patrick Kelly, Dessie Conneely, Tony Gill, Cormac McWalter.

Meath Team: Harry Hogan, Robin Clarke, Ronan Ryan, Eoin Harkin (0-1), Cathal Hickey, Shane McEntee, Donal Keogan, Padraic Harnan, Ethan Devine, Cillian O’Sullivan, Bryan McMahon, Matthew Costello (0-1), James Conlon, Shane Walsh (0-1), Joey Wallace (0-1). Subs: Jordan Morris (0-2), Thomas O’Reily, Eamon Wallace, Saran O Fionnagain, Gavin McGowan.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: