A look back at Galway Sports Titles

The Galway United team celebrate their league win last Friday night.

Following Galway United’s, First Division title win over Kerry F.C last Friday night, Galway Pulse decided to look back at other Galway teams’ that have won titles in recent years.

Galway United F.C (2023)

John Caulfied’s team ended their 27-year trophy drought in style, by winning the First Division title at a canter. The result means, that Eamonn Deacy Park will host Premier Division matches for the first time since 2018. United were streets ahead in the First Division, being the highest scorers with 83 goals and a current 18-point gap, between them and 2nd place Waterford F.C.

John Caulfield has a chance to turn the famine into a feast, with potentially only two matches between them and the FAI Cup. They face Premier Division side Bohemians in the semi-final on Saturday, the 7th of October.

Galway United Women’s (2023)

Galway United formed its women’s team on October 5th 2022, after the demise of Galway W.F.C due to running costs. Phil Thrill was later appointed manager of the newly formed side.

The team enjoyed success in their first-ever season, winning the All-Island Cup, with a 1-0 win over Cliftonville in the final.

Galway Senior Camogie (2021)

The Galway Camogie team won their 2nd O’Duffy cup in 3 years in 2021, defeating Cork in the final by 1-15 to 1-12.

After edging out Tipperary in the semi finals, Cathal Murray’s side had a tough battle to claim their fourth ever All Ireland Championship. In what was a thrilling final, the O’Duffy cup looked to be going Leeside after Cork scored a goal to make it 1-11 to 0-11 with only 11 minutes left.

However, Galway reacted brilliantly, outscoring their Munster opponents 1-4 to 0-1 in the last ten minutes with Siobhan McGrath getting the crucial 3 pointer.

Galway Senior Hurlers (2017)

Liam McCarthy returned to Galway after a 29 year absence, on the first Sunday in September in 2017. The Tribesmen came into the final on a high, after beating then All Ireland champions, Tipperary with Joe Canning excellently scoring an injury time winner.

They met Waterford in the final. The team from the south east were looking to end a famine of their own, stretching back to 1959. A 0-26 to 2-17 win to Galway ensured that Liam, would be making his way to the west.

Connacht Rugby (2016)

Connacht’s last title win was also their first. Their first major trophy in their 138 year history, came after a 20 – 12 victory over Leinster in the Pro 12 final at Murrayfield, Scotland. The Westerners were underdogs for the final, but ripped up the script, to create a 15 – 0 lead at halftime.

Leinster finally got on the scoreboard in the 43rd minute via a Johnny Sexton penalty. Any hope of a Leinster comeback was cut short, with a Matt Healy try on the 53rd minute. The men from the West held strong to achieve a historic victory.


Galway Senior Footballers (2001)

It has been 22 years since a Galwegian has lifted Sam Maguire. The Tribesmen’s last All Ireland victory came during a major restructure of the championship. 2001 saw the introduction of the backdoor system, with teams that were knocked out of their provincial championship, being given a second chance.

This new restructure benefitted Galway massively. After a defeat to Roscommon in Connacht, they regrouped and sauntered through the qualifiers. They enacted revenge against Roscommon in the quarter final, and beat Derry in the semi-final.

They faced raging hot favourites, Meath in the final. However, the men in maroon pulled off a massive shock, hammering their opponents, 0-17 to 0-08. Padraic Joyce was awarded man of the match, scoring 10 points.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: