Galway United claim creditable draw against Bohemians

Galway United 0

Bohemians 0

Galway United played out a scoreless draw with Premier division side Bohemians in Eamonn Deacy Park on Friday night.

It was a bright opening by both sides as Galway went close after just five minutes after a good one-two between Manu Dimas and Jordan Adeyemo opened the Bohemians defence, which allowed Adeyemo to have a good opportunity, but he failed to hit the target.

Bohemians first shot on target came courtesy of Promise Omochere in the Ninth minute, but Galway goalkeeper Conor Kearns was equal to it and pushed it around the post. From the resulting corner, Junior Ogediuzokwe tried an acrobatic overhead kick which went just wide.

Towards the end of the first half, the Dublin side began to stamp their authority on the game. Kearns was called in action again and produced a great save to deny Omochere who was one on one following a great threaded pass from Gordan Doherty.

Just before the interval Bohs went close again following a long range deflected effort from Ali Coote, which just whistled passed the post.

The second half brought little goalmouth action as the intensity of the match dropped. With 60 minutes on the clock, David Hurley stung the fingertips of Bohs goalkeeper James Talbot with a shot from 25-yards, but that’s as good as it got for the hosts.

With just under 10 minutes left, Bohs were inches away from leaving the west with victory, as second half substitute Dawson Devoy managed to find Kris Twardek whose shot from a tight angle hit the post.

Galway have one remaining pre-season game against Corrib Celtic before they kick off their season away to Cork City on the 25 February.

Galway United: Conor Kearns, Conor O’Keefe, David Hurley, Jordan Adeyemo, Killian Brouder, Diego Portilla, Oisin O’Reilly, Mikie Rowe, Manu Dimas, Edward McCarthy, Conor McCormack.

Subs: Wilson Waweru, Caoilfhionn O’Dea, Gary Boylan, Shane Doherty, Francely Lomboto, Stephen Walsh.

Bohemians: James Talbot, James Finnerty, Grant Horton, Rory Feely, Gordan Doherty, Ali Coote, Tyreke Wilson, Kris Twardek, Promise Omochere, Junior Ogediuzokwe, Jordan Flores.

Subs: Conor Levingston, Stephen Mallon, Dawson Devoy.

For more Galway Pulse stories, click here.

Follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagram and LinkedIn.




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.