Six Nations – England v Ireland Preview

England welcome Ireland to Twickenham Stadium tomorrow, with throw-in at 3pm. Ireland will be hoping to move one step closer to the Grand Slam, with a win tomorrow handing Ireland the Triple Crown.

Since 2004, Ireland has won the Triple Crown five times, most recently in 2018, when England were defeated on a 24-15 scoreline, Ireland’s biggest win over England at Twickenham.

Ireland’s biggest loss against England loss came in 2008, losing 33-10, with Johnny Wilknison putting in a masterclass display to end Ireland Triple Crown, and Grand Slam hopes that year. Going head to head in the Six Nations, Ireland have won eleven encounters since 2000, with England winning nine times.

There is one change to the Irish line up. With Ian Henderson unavailable due to the birth of his child, Devin Toner gets the nod after impacting as a sub in the last two rounds of the competition.

England have made four changes from their unimpressive performance against the Scots last time out. Manu Tuilagi returns to the line-up; Johnathan Joseph moves to centre wing, his first start in 50 tests; Eliot Daly moves to fullback, while Ben Youngs and Joe Merler both return, with Courtney Lawes dropping to the bench.

Team Line-Ups

England: E Daly (Saracens); J May (Leicester), M Tuilagi (Leicester), O Farrell (Saracens, capt), J Joseph (Bath); G Ford (Leicester), B Youngs (Leicester); J Marler (Harlequins), J George (Saracens), K Sinckler (Harlequins), M Itoje (Saracens), G Kruis (Saracens), C Lawes (Northampton), S Underhill (Bath), T Curry (Sale).

Replacements: L Cowan-Dickie (Exeter), E Genge (Leicester), W Stuart (Bath), J Launchbury (Wasps), C Ewels (Bath), B Earl (Saracens), W Heinz (Gloucester), H Slade (Exeter).

Ireland: J Larmour (Leinster); A Conway (Munster), R Henshaw (Leinster), B Aki (Connacht), J Stockdale (Ulster); J Sexton (Leinster, capt), C Murray (Munster); C Healy (Leinster), R Herring (Ulster), T Furlong (Leinster), D Toner (Leinster), J Ryan (Leinster), P O’Mahony (Munster), J van der Flier (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster).

Replacements: R Kelleher (Leinster), D Kilcoyne (Munster), A Porter (Leinster), U Dillane (Connacht), C Doris (Leinster), J Cooney (Ulster), R Byrne (Leinster), K Earls (Munster).

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.